The City of Montreal is issuing a public notice today announcing the update of the map of the 58 electoral districts that will be used for the 2025 general election.

This public notice follows the adoption of a draft bylaw by City council in its March 18th meeting.

Click here (English and French) to access the public notice.

Click here to access the City council's official documents (see p. 1994 to 2040).

In summary, the draft bylaw renews the boundaries of the districts adopted in 2020 in the boroughs of Ahuntsic-Cartierville, Anjou, Côte-des-Neiges—Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, Lachine, LaSalle, Mercier—Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, Montréal-Nord, Outremont, Pierrefonds-Roxboro, Le Plateau-Mont-Royal, Rivière-des-Prairies—Pointe-aux-Trembles, Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie, Saint-Laurent, Verdun, and Villeray—Saint-Michel—Parc-Extension.

Furthermore, the draft bylaw includes modifications to the boundaries of most districts within the boroughs of L'Île-Bizard—Sainte-Geneviève, Sud-Ouest, Saint-Léonard, and Ville-Marie. The list of districts whose proposed boundaries are modified in relation to the city's 2020 bylaw is the following:

Borough Electoral district Proposed modifications compared to 2020
L'Île-Bizard—Sainte-Geneviève Pierre-Foretier Yes
Denis-Benjamin-Viger Yes
Jacques-Bizard Yes
Sainte-Geneviève No (renewal)
Le Sud-Ouest Saint-Henri-Est—Petite-Bourgogne—Pointe-Saint-Charles—Griffintown Yes
Saint-Paul—Émard—Saint-Henri-Ouest Yes
Saint-Léonard Saint-Léonard-Est Yes
Saint-Léonard-Ouest Yes
Ville-Marie Sainte-Marie Yes
Saint-Jacques Yes
Peter-McGill No (renewal)

Élections Montréal and the Service des infrastructure du réseau routier (Division de la géomatique) present an interactive map where Montrealers can visualize the electoral districts of the 2021 general election as well as those proposed by the draft bylaw for the 2025 election.

The modifications to the electoral map are proposed to comply with the law and ensure a more effective representation. They have the effect of increasing or decreasing the number of voters within the affected districts due to the demographic changes observed in recent years.

The update of the electoral map is a planned and recurring operation, the year preceding a general election. This operation has no impact on the electoral framework, City governance, the number of elected officials, or the voting procedures.

Voters who wish to file an objection to the proposed electoral district boundaries have until April 10th to do so. Objections must be made in writing (see the public notice for more details).

The modification of the electoral map is closely regulated by the law. The next steps in this matter are as follows:

  • April 10th: end of the reception of objections (if need be);
  • Early May: public meeting to hear objections (if need be);
  • May 13th: adoption of the bylaw;
  • Spring/Summer: review of the bylaw by the Commission de la représentation du Québec;
  • October 31st: map of the 58 electoral districts (2025-2029) becomes effective.

Élections Montréal is a non-partisan organization responsible for conducting municipal elections in the City of Montreal. In regard to the modification to the electoral districts' boundaries, Élections Montréal has examined the electorate and issued recommendations regarding the division of the City of Montreal for the purposes of the general election on November 2nd, 2025.