How is the City of Montréal divided up for purposes of holding a general election?

Rectangle

For purposes of a general election, the list of electors of the City of Montréal (more than 1.1 million voters) is divided into polling subdivisions. These subdivisions are made up of a maximum of 500 people registered to vote from the same local area (block or street segment, for example).

Each polling subdivision is associated with a polling station where voters may come to exercise their right to vote. At one polling location, there may be several polling stations to which voters from specific polling subdivisions are assigned.

How does Elections Montréal choose the voting locations?

Rectangle

Several criteria are considered when choosing a voting location. One of the most important criteria is the universal accessibility of the premises. A voting location must meet established accessibility criteria. To improve the accessibility of a voting location, Elections Montréal can install a temporary access ramp. The use of a site requires a rental agreement. To conclude such an agreement, the venue must be available on the election days.

Sometimes a location used as a polling place in one election is no longer available for the subsequent election due to construction, events or other landlord-specific reasons.

How does COVID-19 influence the election?

Rectangle

The COVID-19 pandemic has had many repercussions on the 2021 general election. For example, in order to allow persons who are recommended to be in isolation to exercise their right to vote, it is now possible to submit a remote application for a revision of the list of electors and even to vote by mail. In voting locations, the application of numerous measures such as physical distancing is also required.

The Health Protocol to Reduce the Risk of Spreading COVID-19 during the 2021 Municipal General Election (document in French) outlines significant measures to be implemented during the election.

How can I get more information about the election?

Rectangle

The Elections Montréal website is a neutral and objective source of information. The returning officer also maintains direct contact with representatives of political parties and independent candidates.

In fact, candidates and their representatives are invited to an information session on the voting process. This virtual meeting offered by Elections Montréal will be held by videoconference on October 21, 2021 at 7 p.m. Participants must register in advance at the web address provided to them when they apply.

What is the role of the representatives?

Rectangle

This year, under the law, a political party or a candidate may appoint a proxy to represent them to a deputy returning officer at a polling station. Representatives must carry a duly completed proxy form and present it to the election staff. Representatives must also respect public health measures and physical distancing. Under the Health Protocol, candidates will be able to delegate only one representative per polling location at the same time.

How can I find out who voted?

Rectangle

List collectors (working for political parties or candidates and holding a duly completed proxy form) will be able to go to the polling places on November 6 and 7 to obtain the statements of participation. The returning officer will ensure that the list of electors who voted either at the advance polls or by mail-in ballot will be forwarded by e-mail to the political representatives. The list of persons who have requested to vote by mail will also be transmitted in the same way. Applicable laws and regulations provide for this practice.

Where can I learn the results of the election?

Rectangle

The results of the 103 elections taking place in the City of Montréal will be communicated on this website. Results will be released as they come in, beginning at 8 p.m. on November 7, 2021.

Comment le territoire de la Ville de Montréal est-il divisé pour les fins de la tenue de l’élection générale ?

Rectangle

Pour les fins de l’élection générale, la liste électorale de la Ville de Montréal (plus d’un 1,1 million d’électeurs et d’électeurs) est divisée en sections de vote. Ces sections regroupent un maximum de 500 personnes inscrites pour voter d’un même secteur, quadrilatère ou bout de rue, par exemple.

Chacune des sections de vote établie est associée à un bureau de vote ou les électrices et électeurs sont invité-es à exercer leur droit de vote. Dans un même endroit de vote, il arrive qu’on retrouve plusieurs bureaux de vote auxquels sont assignés les électrices et électeurs de sections de vote déterminés.

Comment Élections Montréal choisit-elle les endroits de vote ?

Rectangle

Plusieurs critères sont considérés dans le choix d’un endroit de vote. L’un des critères les plus importants est l’accessibilité universelle des lieux. Un endroit de vote doit répondre à des critères établis en matière d’accessibilité. Pour améliorer l’accessibilité d’un endroit de vote, Élections Montréal peut notamment faire installer une rampe d’accès temporaire. L’utilisation d’un lieu repose sur une entente de location. Pour qu’une telle entente soit conclue, le lieu doit être disponible les jours de l’élection.

Il arrive qu’un lieu utilisé comme endroit de vote lors d’une élection ne soit plus disponible à l’élection suivante en raison de travaux en cours, d’événements qui s’y tiennent ou d’autres motifs propres aux locateurs.

Comment la COVID-19 influence-t-elle l’élection ?

Rectangle

La pandémie de la COVID-19 a de nombreuses répercussions sur la tenue de l’élection générale de 2021. Par exemple, afin de faciliter l’exercice de droit de vote, une personne dont l’isolement est recommandé peut présenter à distance une demande de révision de la liste électorale et même de voter par correspondance. Dans les endroits de vote, l’application de nombreuses mesures telle la distanciation physique est requise.

Le protocole sanitaire visant à réduire les risques de la propagation de la COVID-19 lors de l’élection générale municipale présente d’importantes mesures à appliquer lors de l’élection.

Comment puis-je obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’élection ?

Rectangle

Le site d’Élections Montréal est une source d’information neutre et objective. Le président d’élection assure aussi des liens directs avec les représentants des formations politiques et des personnes candidates indépendantes.

Les personnes candidates et leurs représentants sont d’ailleurs invités à une séance d’information sur le déroulement du scrutin. Cette rencontre virtuelle offerte par Élections Montréal aura lieu par visioconférence le 21 octobre 2021 à 19h. Les participant-es doivent d’abord s’inscrire à l’adresse internet qui leur a été remise au moment du dépôt de leur candidature.

Quel est le rôle des représentant-es ?

Rectangle

En vertu de la Loi, une formation politique ou une personne candidate peut désigner par procuration un-e représentant-e auprès d’un scrutateur d’un bureau de vote. Les représentant-es doivent être munis-es d’une procuration dûment complétée et la présenter au personnel électoral. Les représentant-es doivent aussi respecter les mesures sanitaires et la distanciation physique. En vertu du protocole sanitaire, les personnes candidates pourront déléguer, cette année, seulement un représentant à la fois par par endroit de vote.

Comment puis-je savoir quelles sont les personnes qui ont voté ?

Rectangle

Les releveuses et releveurs de listes des formations politiques et personnes candidates, munis-es d’une procuration dûment complétée, pourront se présenter dans les endroits de vote les 6 et 7 novembre afin d’obtenir les relevés de participation. Le président d’élection verra à transmettre par courriel la liste des électrices et électeurs ayant voté lors du vote par anticipation et du vote par correspondance aux intervants-es politiques. La liste des personnes qui ont demandé le vote par correspondance sera aussi transmise de la même manière. La loi et les règlements encadrent cette pratique.

Où pourrais-je connaître les résultats de l’élection ?

Rectangle

Les résultats des 103 élections qui se dérouleront dans la Ville de Montréal seront communiqués sur ce site web. Les résultats seront diffusés au fur et à mesure à compter de 20 h le 7 novembre 2021.